Friday, 7 October 2011

I watch Doctor Who. Doctor Who is cool.

Is it though? That's what I've been thinking about recently, is Doctor Who cool now? I know that it has become more socially acceptable now to watch as opposed to 'Classic' Who where the fact of being a fan was kept in a closet in a box with the lid soldered shut. But cool? I'm not so sure. Or maybe it is cool to watch the longest running Sci-Fi programme in the world, take that Star Trek, but what isn't cool is what I and many other do; cosplay. Now for those of you that don't know cosplay combines the two words of costume and play and just means dressing up as someone from your favorite t.v show, magazine etc. I think that it is this that is not considered cool, it is this which still relegates the die-hard Who fans, or Whovians if you will, to their little box in the closet. I myself get all excited about putting together a new outfit for Doctor Who and in the weeks that follow there will be a number of posts about this, but I know that for the majority of people who watch and enjoy Doctor Who this is still seen as silly, stupid and uncool, some would say it was also a waste of money.  But we enjoy it, we enjoy trawling the charity shops looking for that perfect pair of trousers, we enjoy searching Ebay looking for that elusive jacket or umbrella that turns up once in a blue moon.
We enjoy dressing up as the characters we all know and love whether it's cool or not.

No comments:

Post a Comment